cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Very basic question on "how-to"

I am a brand newbie to graphs, been going through the articles, and playing around with Neo4j Desktop. I am trying to sketch out a basic model for a number of tests I have, where each test "steps" need to be considered (directional)

The one challenge I am facing is how to represent each test uniquely – so visually I can see which tests cover what nodes.

For example, let’s say I have a test Test1 which does the following “steps” - A, B, C, D, and E(sequentially in that order, so directional A-->B-->C-->D-->E
Another tests, Test2, does A-->F-->C-->D

If I consider A to F as nodes, then the directional flow is not clear – as someone can interpret that A-->F-->C-->D-->E is representing a test, when it is not.

If I tag the test “ID” as relation type, it gets messy. I also think that would be a “bad” way to model my data?

Any suggestions on how to get this in a way so that the graph shows the flow as well as distinct tests please or any articles I can read up on?

Thanks a lot in advance

5 REPLIES 5

clem
Graph Steward

This question is interesting as it doesn't use nodes and relationships the way other situations would.

I would suggest that the relationships be how you denote the tests.

Something like:

A-[:TEST1]->B-[:TEST1]->C-[:TEST1]->D-[:TEST1]->E

A-[:TEST2]->F-[:TEST2]->C-[:TEST2]->D

Hi @sridhar1971

This is another idea.

It looks complicated.

Separate processes and flows, such as when the same process appears multiple times in a flowchart.

Process: Red
Test1: Green
Test2: Gray

CREATE (a:Process {name: 'A'}),
       (b:Process {name: 'B'}),
       (c:Process {name: 'C'}),
       (d:Process {name: 'D'}),
       (e:Process {name: 'E'}),
       (f:Process {name: 'F'})
CREATE (a1:Test1 {name: 'A'}),
       (b1:Test1 {name: 'B'}),