cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Fatal error occurred when handling a client connection causes crash

Hi,

I've been running Neo4j Community for an internal app for several months: recently I've started to get the below crash situation (from debug.log) which causes neo4j and the VM to become unusable for ~1hr unless its restarted. The Detected VM stop-the-world pause repeats until neo4j restarts itself.

Neo4j Community 3.5.6
Linux (ubuntu 18.04) an Azure VM
.net driver 1.7.2

Prior to the final crash there are many ERROR [o.n.b.t.p.HouseKeeper] Fatal error occurred when handling a client connection: ... which don't result in a crash. From reading around Github and this forum it would seem the eventual crash is a result of the server connection pool becoming full?

I've traced the cause off the connection not getting closed correctly on the app side due to a switch to UWP and not correctly handling the closing of connections when the app goes into a suspended state: this I can fix.

However is there anything I can do on the server side to reset the connection pool at a certain limit/time period and prevent the crash?

Thanks,

Paul

2019-07-24 07:15:45.615+0000 ERROR [o.n.b.t.p.HouseKeeper] Fatal error occurred when handling a client connection: [id: 0xf2451b2e, L:/10.0.0.4:7687 - R:/202.4.165.254:46375] readAddress(..) failed: Connection timed out
io.netty.channel.unix.Errors$NativeIoException: readAddress(..) failed: Connection timed out
at io.netty.channel.unix.Errors.newIOException(Errors.java:122)
at io.netty.channel.unix.Errors.ioResult(Errors.java:146)
at io.netty.channel.unix.FileDescriptor.readAddress(FileDescriptor.java:178)
at io.netty.channel.epoll.AbstractEpollChannel.doReadBytes(AbstractEpollChannel.java:343)