cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

searching using 'or' on entities

rc
Node Clone

hello, 

I am a Neo4j newbie. 

I have a Neo4j graph with 3 entities: Person, FirstName, Postcode - they are related to each other as follows: 

Person -> [:HasFirstName] -> FirstName 

Person -> [:HasPostcode] -> Postcode

I have a person in the database: 
Tom with Postcode: LA2 0RN

I have this query: 

"MATCH(p:Person), (pc:Postcode), (f:FirstName)
WHERE (p)-[:HAS_POSTCODE] -> (pc{value:'LA2 0RN'}) OR (p)-[:HAS_FIRST_NAME]->(f:FirstName {value: "Jerry"})
return DISTINCT p, pc" 

It does not return any records even if there is a match for Tom based on his postcode. How do I execute an OR statement so that I can return Tom based on his postcode. 

Thanks, 

4 REPLIES 4

I believe it is due there not existing a path between Person Tom and FirstName "Jerry", so the value of 'f' never get set, so the Cartesian product in your match has not results. The following should work:

MATCH(p:Person)
optional match (pc:Postcode{value:'LA2 0RN'})
optional match (f:FirstName{value: "Jerry"})
WHERE 
    exists((p)-[:HAS_POSTCODE] -> (pc)) 
    OR exists((p)-[:HAS_FIRST_NAME]->(f))
return DISTINCT p, pc

Just a note, the data model seems a little strange.  Typically, postal code and first name would be a property on the Person node. Is there a reason you have made this nodes instead?  

rc
Node Clone

Thanks for your response. We did have them as properties but when the graph was scaled its performance degraded (despite using indexes etc). We are trying a new model where we have extracted the properties that we search against into entities.