cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Return +2nd degree connections

Hi all,

I'm new to neo4j so apologies in advance if I'm not explaining myself correctly. I'm starting to build a recommendation system from scratch. For the moment I'm making my query tests with a dummy DB:
2X_0_012c0366fa7a33cfad10568cd40e5747c3f731f3.png
It represents a network of players that played a match together (that's why relationships are reciprocal).

I'm trying to find 2nd (or more) degree connections for each player:

• P1 > P5
  • P2 > P3, P4, P5
  • P3 > P2, P4, P5
  • P4 > P2, P3, P5
  • P5 > P1, P2, P3

Let's say I want to look at the recommendations for P5. I tried with the following query:

MATCH (originalplayer:Player{playerId:"P5"})-[*2..5]->(recommended:Player)
WHERE recommended.playerId<>"P5"
RETURN DISTINCT recommended.playerId

Which results in this:
2X_4_4c174e458e76f117b71eda92055970fb82ecad44.png

I think I understand why is returning P4. Basically because my graph is bidirectional, correct?

But then, what should I do?
Should I build the relationships differently?
Should I exclude direct connections? I haven't learned how to do that yet but not sure if that solution would be optimal when trying to return all users and its recommendations in a single query

Many thanks!
Raul.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Since a :played_with relationship always implies reciprocality in your graph (if the relationship is present in one direction, then it is present in the other direction), then you should only use single relationships for these between nodes, not one in each direction.

This will simplify your graph structure, and it will allow your queries to work as you expect. You will want to omit the relationship direction in your MATCH pattern however, since you're just interested in the presence of a relationship in the pattern.