cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Query not working

Hello Friends

I am new to Neo4j . I am trying to run simple Query but running into some issues which i am not able to figure out . Your help will be appreciated .
When I run following Query

Match(a:Procedure)-[n:PROFESSIONAL_RATE]->(b:RVU)Where NOT n.Modifer="All" RETURN *

why this query does not return any results . where as if I run below Query this will the result

Match(Procedure)-[n:PROFESSIONAL_RATE]->(RVU)Where NOT n.Modifer="All" RETURN *

But if I change return state like

Match(Procedure)-[n:PROFESSIONAL_RATE]->(RVU)Where NOT n.Modifer="All" RETURN Procedure.id

I see result is coming but all are null .

Any thoughts ?

11 REPLIES 11

the first statement of

Match(a:Procedure)-[n:PROFESSIONAL_RATE]->(b:RVU)Where NOT n.Modifer="All" RETURN 

says find me a node with a label of :Procedure which has a relationship named :PROFESSIONAL_RATE and this relationship is attached to another node which has a lable of :RVU

however the 2nd statement of

Match(Procedure)-[n:PROFESSIONAL_RATE]->(RVU)Where NOT n.Modifer="All" RETURN 

says find me ANY node, regardless of label which has a relationship named :PROFESSIONAL_RATE and this relationship is attached to ANY other node, regardless of label.

So the 1st statement is more restrictive.

Thanks Dan

Even though it is more restrictive ,shouldn't that work since I have Procedure Object in DB . Another Q

IF i use 2nd query why below statement would return null values . So statement is retuning no of correct rows but value is printing null ,

Match(Procedure)-[n:PROFESSIONAL_RATE]->(RVU)Where NOT n.Modifer="All" RETURN Procedure.id,Procedure.Short_Desc

what does

Match(Procedure)-[n:PROFESSIONAL_RATE]->(RVU)Where NOT n.Modifer="All" RETURN properties(Procedure) limit 3;