cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

My graph is, well, busy. What now?

Sorry if this is vague! I think I'm asking for brainstorming ideas...
This graph is a mySQL schema: tables, queries, attributes and the connections between them. When it loads in the browser it looks unintelligible. What now? Is it simply too much data? I can filter it, but are there other tips and tricks I can use?

9 REPLIES 9

paul1
Node Link

I am very new to this, so hopefully my answer is OK, or someone more knowledgeable will come along and give you a better answer! It looks to me like you have attributes such as first_name as nodes, when they should in fact be adjectives to the nodes, or adverbs to the relationships. This would thin out your image significantly. My take on moving from an SQL RDBMS to a graph database is that the tables become nodes, and the fields become adjectives/adverbs. There is a good series of introductory videos over on YouTube which I found useful:

While Paul is still getting used to the terminology we use with property graphs and Neo4j, his advice is good, and the video series (they link to the next in the series at the end) is a great place to become familiar with graph db use cases, terminology, and function.

At the very general level, when translating from SQL to Cypher, you would translate this way:

A SQL table name would become a node label.
A row in a table would become a node (labeled appropriately as in the previous line)
A column in the table would become a property of the corresponding node for that label.

In place of a join table (or a column in a table with an FK relationship to an entry in another table) you would instead create a relationship between each pair of related nodes.