cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Extract the largest node in a path from multiple paths

Hi, I am new in neo4j.

I'm trying to query multiple list and find the max in each list.
The data are like
NA1 -> NA2 -> NA3 -> NA4 -> NB1 -> NB2 -> NB3 -> NB4 -> ......
(NAs had same attribute and NBs had same attribute)
I want to find the max id in NA1 to NA4, NB1 to NB4 and make sure the max id in each list is the first
e.g. NA1 is the max id in list NA
I tried

match p = (a:b:node {attribute:"NA"} )-[r*]->(b:node {attribute:"NA"})
WITH reduce(output = , n IN nodes(p) | output + n ) as nodeCollection

But I'm stuck here and don't know how to check the maximum ID in each list.
Or do anything in each list.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

You should be able to return a max number with Max() and then return the ID of that node so something like:

MATCH (n:Node)-[r*]->(b:Node {attribute: NA})
WHERE attribute = Max(attribute)
YOUR LOGIC HERE

That should at least get you to the max duration and then you can split off from there.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

MuddyBootsCode
Graph Steward

Hello Pawa, welcome to the community! Just to clarify, you're looking for the highest number attribute in your chain of node relationships? Or trying to find the node with the highest attribute and return it's ID?

Hi,
Thank for your apply!
I’m trying to find the highest number attribute in my chain of node and check whether it is the right position I want.
But the chain needs to split into small chain .
E.g..
NA1 -> NA2 -> NA3 -> NA4 -> NB1 -> NB2 -> NB3 -> NB4 ->
Split to
NA1 -> NA2 -> NA3 -> NA4
NB1 -> NB2 -> NB3 -> NB4

and check the max duration node is the number one node.
( N means node, A and the number are the attribute and each node has its own duration )