cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Large Batch Job - Help would be incredibly appreciated

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to Neo4j and Cypher. I'm enjoying the journey of learning and the support this community provides very much. It's incredible how much documentation exists and for that I'm very grateful. I'm starting to step into uncharted territory and I'm having trouble with some of the more advanced queries, relatively speaking.

I've been able to experiment with all sorts of Python code and have written a few helper libraries for my project. In short, I'm trying to run a large batch job (Many GB of data). I've prepopulated the database using the CSV import tools via command line which worked quite well. I'm now at the data analysis / processing step in my project and I thought my queries were going well until I discovered that in fact I pretty much ruined my dataset by carelessly performing two UNWIND operations back to back. That's no biggie as I have the VM snapshotted. Here was my query:

UNWIND [['a1','b2'],['b2','b3']] as datapair
UNWIND datapair as dataelement
MATCH (n:some_node_label {some_property: dataelement})-->(c:cluster_node)
WITH DISTINCT(c.cluster_id) as cids,c
UNWIND cids as cid
MATCH (c)<--(a:random_node)
WITH count(a) as c_count,c
ORDER BY c_count DESC
WITH collect(c) as nodes
CALL apoc.refactor.mergeNodes(nodes, {properties:'discard'})
YIELD node
RETURN "success" as status