cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Downloading, Installing and Configuring NEO4J on Linux EC2 instance

Hello everyone! I am a new member of the NEO4J community. I am just getting started with graph databases and I decided to explore NEO4J, the leader in the market. I have a few doubts that I'd like to discuss with the community here and hopefully receive some helpful responses.

The scenario is, I have a EC2 instance where I am running my Python code to generate an adjacency list that has 50,000 nodes and 100 million edges. I have this data sitting in a dataframe with me. I would like to store this data in a graph database (NEO4J). For that, I need to configure NEO4J on an EC2 instance such that I can access it from my current EC2 instance via Python Drivers. My end goal here is to have my graph database up and running on an EC2 instance and then have my other EC2 instance be able to create nodes and relations via Python drivers. And ultimately analyze the graph to answer my questions like what is the single source shortest path from node 1, what are the max cliques etc.

Can anyone kindly help me out with what steps do I exactly need and what kind of edition of NEO4J would suit my needs.

4 REPLIES 4

jsmccrumb
Graph Buddy

Hello and welcome!

I would start by looking at the community edition to see if that suits your needs (avoid the need for licensing). Neo4j 4.0.0 was released just the other day, so you could opt for that or just stick with 3.5 (whatever is latest version of that). Personally, I'd say just start with 4.0 so you don't have to upgrade to it later.

Installing neo4j should be fairly simple, depending on what EC2 you go with. Are you currently using Ubuntu or some other one?