cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Creating relationship over several millions of nodes

Hello!

I have 2 node labels, one of them has around 750K nodes, and another one with almost 50millions nodes. I have a stand-alone neo4j 3.5 running with 8 core and 96g memory. I am creating a relationship between these node labels using apoc.periodic.itererate but this query is been running for too long.
Some of the node label properties get refreshed every day and I want to be able to refresh the relationship once the node properties are updated in both labels. The last time when I ran the query to update the relationship, it was running for more than 8 hrs and I had to kill it.
Do you guys have any solution for this to speed up this process? Should I be doing this in a different way? If so, would you please let me know the approach.(I'm new to Neo4j).

Thanks!!

23 REPLIES 23

call apoc.periodic.iterate("match (i:Inventory) , (p:Products) where p.p3 <> '0' and i.p1= p.p1 OR where p.p3 <> '0' and i.p2= p.p2 return i,p","merge (i) -[:PRODUCES]->(p)",{batchSize:20000, parallel:false})

This is how the query looks like and I have indexes on p1,p2 and p3.

1. Negation is expensive
    (good formatting isn't)

First, lest get this one running faster:

MATCH (i:Inventory), (p:Products)
WHERE p.p3 <> '0' AND  i.p1= p.p1 OR # this one is gonna *kill* your cpy and ram
WHERE p.p3 <> '0' AND i.p2= p.p2
RETURN i,p

So... let's make sure we only need to do that negation once, and group the rest of the WHERE clause more carefully

MATCH (p:Products)
WHERE p.p3 <> '0'

WITH p
MATCH (i :Inventory) 
WHERE i.p1= p.p1 OR i.p2= p.p2
RETURN i,p

...which will get you to a faster solution:

CALL apoc.periodic.iterate("
    MATCH (p:Products) WHERE p.p3 <> '0' WITH p
    MATCH (i :Inventory) WHERE i.p1= p.p1 OR i.p2= p.p2
    RETURN i,p
","