cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Create relationship using if...else condition

Hi!

I'm very new to Neo4j. I have searched in the community and StackOverflow but I couldn't get the exact answer yet so posting it here. I am trying to create a relationship between 2 different node labels using 2 properties. Lets say my node labels are -

I:Inventory
O:Owners

Both I and O have common properties (p1 and p2). I want to be able to create a relationship (I) -[OWNED_BY]->(O) where I.p1 = O.p1 or I.p2 = O.p2.
The problem with this is it creates duplicate relationships for I when it has both p1 and p2 values. My requirement is to ignore I nodes when both p1 and p2 are null and then create only one relationship using either p1 or p2.

Thanks!

9 REPLIES 9

Bennu
Graph Fellow

Hi @karthik.shetty,

Have you tried Merge instead of create while doing the relation?

H

Hello @karthik.shetty and welcome to the Neo4j community

It will create the relation only where both properties are equal and when both exists that's to say when they are not null

MATCH (I:Inventory) MATCH (O:Owners)
WHERE I.p1 = O.p1
AND I.p2 = O.p2
AND EXISTS(I.p1)
AND EXISTS(I.p2)
MERGE (I)-[OWNED_BY]->(O)

Regards,
Cobra

Thanks Cobra and Harold! I appreciate your response.

I did give this a try and it seems to be working for a small test set of data. Which is great!!!
BTW - I do have p1 and p2 in all the I:Inventory nodes but some of them are just null string (' '). So I slightly modified the query to this - please correct me if this doesn't look right

MATCH (I:Inventory) MATCH (O:Owners) WHERE I.p1 = O.p1 AND I.p2 = O.p2 AND I.p1 <> ' ' AND O.p2 <> ' ' MERGE (I)-[:OWNED_BY]->(O)