cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

CASE(x) WHEN containts Y THEN replace(x, z, c) error

anthino12
Node Clone

Hey, I just started learning neo4j and I'm facing one small error. Therefor, I want to CREATE a "table" from a csv file but my csv file containts back slashes and forward slashes. I know that these characters are escape characters but I tried to replace them during the CREATE process. This is my cypher:

LOAD CSV WITH HEADERS FROM "file:///comments.csv" AS row
CREATE (n:Comments)
SET n = row,
SET n.Content = CASE(row.Content) WHEN CONTAINS '\\' THEN replace(row.Content, '\\', '\\\\') ELSE row.Content

What I'm doing here is basically checking if row.Content contains '\' and if it does, replace it with double '\\'. However I get an error, the error says:
Invalid input 'n': expected whitespace, comment, '{', node labels, MapLiteral, a parameter, a parameter (old syntax), a relationship pattern, '(', '.', '=' or "+=" (line 4, column 5 (offset: 94))
"SET n.Content = CASE(row.Content) WHEN CONTAINS '\' THEN replace(row.Content, '\', '\\') ELSE row.Content"

I googled this error but I didn't get any solution for my problem.
Thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Try to add this in the neo4j.conf file:

dbms.import.csv.legacy_quote_escaping=false

Can you also try this query?

CREATE (n:Comments {commentId: toInteger(row[0]), postId: toInteger(row[1]), content: row[2], author : row[3], date: row[4], vote: toInteger(row[5])})

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15

Hello @anthino12

You have several syntax errors in your request , you forget the END at the end and the () can be removed in the CASE clause (doc😞

SET n = row,
SET n.Content = CASE row.Content WHEN CONTAINS '\\' THEN replace(row.Content, '\\', '\\\\') ELSE row.Content END

Regards,
Cobra

anthino12
Node Clone

Hey @Cobra