cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Avoid cartesian product when create relationships

wdefu
Node Link

Hi! I'm new to neo4j and I try to find some help here.
I have two sets of nodes say one is people and another is car.I want to create relationship between these two sets of nodes but I don't want to create relationships base on cartesian product of result return by match since it will take much time.
The cypher statement I use like below:

MATCH (a:test_11),(b:test_12)
WHERE a.car ="0" AND b."price" = "1"
MERGE (a)-[r:own{time:2020,location:"LA"}]->(b)

Is there a way to write cyher which can avoid generating cartesian product between a and b?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

If you collect them between matching them, sure:

MATCH (a {property1:0})
WITH collect(a) as aNodes
MATCH (b {property2:1})
WITH aNodes, collect(b) as bNodes

(also you should be using labels, otherwise these will be expensive allNodesScans, two of them).

So now you have a list of 100 a nodes and a list of 100 b nodes. To connect them to each other you either need two foreaches (one nested in the other), or to UNWIND both lists back to rows. That would get you a cartesian product as a result, but without doing the extra work from the back-to-back matches, then you create your relationships.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

So, you already have nodes for people and nodes for cars in the graph?
Are there existing relationships between them?
How do you decide which ones you want to relate.
Do you have the id of a Car and the id of a Person and want to put a relationship between them?
I'm not understanding your criteria for wanting to relate.