cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

My name is Marco

Hello fellow Graph Database folks,

My name is Marco, I am from Germany.

I am a communication design student with a degree in computer science. I am planning to use neo4j for a typography experiment, where I collect materials to build typographic sculptures. Those will be displayed on a graphic web application that connects materials, sculptures, tools, visibility, size etc.

Neo4j was my second choice after I planned everything for SQL. Since neo4j already has the capabilities to display graphs, I chose to work with a graph database finally. I hope this supports me in finding rules for displaying this information in the visual style I chose.

Have a good day

5 REPLIES 5

asperlinga
Graph Buddy

Hi Marco,

I think is a very original application of GraphDB.
Consider this:

Please, show some example of your graph.

Ciao
Alessio

Thanks for your contribution,

I am still in the early phase of the project and my aim is a working prototype for now. After that I will go into algorithmic graphic generation.

2X_e_e4d18272bd0f10ff556f6542432eea870c90c48a.png

So far it's a pretty small schema, since I want to create content on a broader scale that doesn't go too much into detail. I wasn't really sure how to scheme the SUBPROJECT_OF relation in the database. Typically, from an SQL perspective - I would have it as a hierarchical structure in the Projects table. Since I wasn't that sure about that in a graph perspective, I added a second label (Project2). The green dots are data sets quantifying the projects.

The graph representation on the website looks like follows:

Here it will serve as a tool to visualize pathways between Material and Projects (the distinct sculpture). My web programming is primitive but extendable, just like the graph.