cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Neo4j crashing regularly because of "OutOfMemoryError"

munshine
Node Clone

Hello,

I'm a beginner, not even a professional programmer: I script tools for CG software, we need a db to store and track production data like assets and shots and Neo4j looked perfect for this. Yet the learning curve is a bit steep for me, for I need to handle many new problematic at the same time, and here's one more:

Our server, a DigitalOcean droplet with 2GB memory, has been crashing roughly every two days for a month. Always for the same reason: OutOfMemoryError.

Oct 08 08:50:37 Database neo4j[1286]: Exception: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError thrown from the UncaughtExceptionHandler in thread "neo4j.VmPauseMonitor-1"
Oct 08 08:52:31 Database neo4j[1286]: Exception: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError thrown from the UncaughtExceptionHandler in thread "neo4j.Scheduler-1"
Oct 08 08:52:38 Database neo4j[1286]: Exception: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError thrown from the UncaughtExceptionHandler in thread "qtp1979980170-10360"
Oct 08 08:52:41 Database neo4j[1286]: Exception: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError thrown from the UncaughtExceptionHandler in thread "qtp1979980170-10599"
Oct 08 08:54:15 Database neo4j[1286]: Exception: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError thrown from the UncaughtExceptionHandler in thread "neo4j.BoltWorker-5 [bolt]"
Oct 08 08:54:48 Database neo4j[1286]: Exception: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError thrown from the UncaughtExceptionHandler in thread "Session-HouseKeeper-6c9bf3b5"
Oct 08 08:55:17 Database neo4j[1286]: 2020-10-08 08:55:17.222+0000 ERROR Unexpected error detected in bolt session 'bolt-3552'. Java heap space
Oct 08 08:55:17 Database neo4j[1286]: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
Oct 08 08:55:18 Database neo4j[1286]: Exception in thread "neo4j.BoltNetworkIO-1" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space