cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

What is the most efficient way to set up Neo4j on AWS?

Hey everyone, I've been running Neo4j for a couple months now on an EC2 and as time has gone on my data has grown and I've been continually changing the instance type to get an increase in memory. Is this the right way to go about accommodating for growing data, or should I be looking into something else such as clustering?

4 REPLIES 4

It depends on what you need. What you're doing is perfectly fine -- clustering is something a bit different. What it gives you is (a) a "high-availability" guarantee, if your database is spread across 3 instances than it's still up and running even if any one instance goes down, and (b) the ability to spread out your read workload.

So for example, if you need very high uptime, or you have way too many read clients for one machine to do the job, then you need a cluster. If you're happy with the machine that you've got, and you just need more RAM because of the queries you're doing, then the way you're approaching this is fine, as long as you're taking regular backups.

Ah okay thanks for clearing that up! I mistook clustering as a way to shard data across multiple servers.

That being said, are there any other options to accommodate for growing data? It isn't too much of an issue at the moment and I do have regular backups, however I'm worried that eventually the costs will get out of hand when trying to upgrade memory to keep up with the data.

I was using the AMI a few months ago but at the time it hadn't been updated to the latest version of Neo4j so I set it up myself on an EC2. Are there any benefits to using the AMI instead of setting up manually? I noticed that the AMI creates 3 different storage volumes though I couldn't find anything on what they do.