cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Understanding performance of basic graph traversal

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Neo4j, but I have read the O'Reilly book and some of the Cypher manual. I am familiar with Graphs in general (from a mathematical perspective). I am getting confused with the basics of traversal performance in Neo4j.

Context

I am making a Knowledge Management system, consisting of Entities with Key/Value Properties. These Values are often going to be other Entities in the system.

For example, the user can store the Simpsons children, with Bart['sister'] = Lisa, and Maggie['brother'] = Bart etc;

@Bart
    sister:@Lisa
    sister:@Maggie

@Lisa
    brother:@Bart
    sister:@Maggie

@Maggie
    brother:@Bart
    sister:@Lisa

I need the Keys to be able arranged into a flexible, user-defined hierarchy.
So they can also say that sister and brother are sub-types of sibling.
Then, if they ask for Bart['sibling'] they should get [Maggie, Lisa], and Lisa['sibling'] should get [Maggie, Bart].

I also want to be able to get all Entities with specific Properties, so HAS('brother') would get [Maggie, Lisa], and HAS('sibling') would get them all (even though none directly has a sibling property).

My model

I am modelling this in Neo4j with nodes like (b:Entity {name:'Bart'}) and (s:Property {name:'sister'}). The inheritance is modeled as (p:Property {name:'brother'})-[:IS_A]->(p:Property {name:'sibling'}).
To model a property having a particular value, I introduce a Context node which connects up an Entity, Key, and Value;

(sister)-[:VALUE]->(context)-[:VALUE]->(maggie)
(context)-[:CONTEXT]->(lisa)

JSON export of this if I'm not being clear enough: records.txt (1.0 KB)

Performance