cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Simple Recommendation

Hey Community,

i'm new to Neo4J.

How can i reason/interference with Neo4j?

Data:

user1-[hasItem]->Item1

user1-[hasItem]->Item2

user2-[hasItem]->Item1

user2-[hasItem]->Item2

user2-[hasItem]->Item3

user3-[hasItem]->Item1

user3-[hasItem]->Item2

user3-[hasItem]->Item3

user3-[hasItem]->Item4

Question:

i'm searching something like recommend (user1) top 5 Items (by count), that other Users have with the same items (item1, item2). It's like people that bought item1, item2 also bought item3, item4 (priorized by count item3[2 times], item4[1 time]).

Is there a simple solution? Sorry, that might be a stupid question and obvious, but like i sayd i'm new and i think, this is one of the benefits of Neo4J.

thanks!

Sebastian

7 REPLIES 7

wgevaert
Node Link

I think the following query might do something you want:

MATCH
  (User1)-[:hasItem]->()<-[:hasItem]-(OtherUser)-[:hasItem]->(ItemToRecommend)
  WHERE NOT (User1)-[:hasItem]->(ItemToRecommend)
WITH id(ItemToRecommend) AS RecommendedId, count(*) AS numberOfUsersThatHaveThisItem
RETURN RecommendedId
ORDER BY numberOfUsersThatHaveThisItem
LIMIT 5;

Explanation:
For each item that User1 has, this query matches for all users that also have this item (Excluding User1 by relationship isomorphism ) and then matches for other items that these other users have. This can be another item that User1 already has, which we do not want, so we exclude it in a where clause.
Then we just count for each item in how many matches it did occur and we are done.

oh yes! I'm going to test this! Thanks a lot! This sounds like the think i'm searching

Ok i tried this out, but it's not that, what i'm searching for (even it is awesome).