cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Resources for understanding "Graph Data Science" execution modes

admin3
Node Clone

Hi,
I am very new in the subject of GDS and don't have a database (yet) to test some things.

I am having difficulties in understanding the execution modes stream, write, mutate and stats. When to use one and when the other? Any use cases and reasons the specific mode was used? I understand the concept but an example will really help.

Also, when to use stored graphs and when to use anonymous graphs. Again, are there any example use cases and reasons for choosing one projection over the other?

I know it's a long discussion, that's why I am asking for resources.

Thanks.

3 REPLIES 3

I am having difficulties in understanding the execution modes stream , write , mutate and stats .

• stream - this one returns back the results to the client. So you'd use this if you wanted to see the results and not use them again later on, or if you want to do some processing on the results yourself.
  • write - this one stores the results back to the database. So you'd use this if you wanted to query the results afterwards. I find that I use the stream version when I'm playing around and the write version when I'm happy that it does what I want.
  • stats - returns a histogram of values as if the algorithm had been run
  • mutate - this is a more advanced mode for updating an in memory projected graph

You can read more about the modes here: https://neo4j.com/docs/graph-data-science/current/common-usage/running-algos/#running-algos-stats

Also, when to use stored graphs and when to use anonymous graphs . Again, are there any example use cases and reasons for choosing one projection over the other?

Both of these modes load an in memory graph.