cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Query optimization on cyclical patterns in chemical reaction network

Hi all, I'm a newbie with Neo4j trying to do some pattern matching on a weird structure. I was able to get results for some of the query, but I had to go into my DB settings and increase the max heap size to ~18G in order for the query to run in a reasonable time. Now that I have added more features to the query (the MATCH clause below with autocatPath), it simply takes too much time to run and I don't physically have more memory to allocate...

Do you have any ideas to optimize the query for my desktop? At what point would you trade off between optimization and hosting on the cloud?

The schema of my graph is a single label graph where the label is "Molecule", and single edge where the edge is "FORMS". So (:Molecule)-[:FORMS]->(:Molecule). (I would include pictures but I am limited since I'm a new user...)

Database instance statistics: version 3.5.12 Enterprise, 6928 nodes, 22025 relationships.

Here is the full query:

// Match the major structures
// 0. Ring structure
MATCH ringPath=(beginMol:Molecule)-[:FORMS*3..5]->(beginMol:Molecule)
UNWIND nodes(ringPath) as ringMol // Create the iterator ringMol to iterate over all the molecules in the ringPath, assuring that only the distinct smiles strings are counted in ringMols (otherwise results will duplicate the beginMol because the ring query starts and ends at beginMol)
WITH collect(distinct ringMol.smiles_str) AS ringMols, ringPath, relationships(ringPath) as ringRels, beginMol
// Filter the query by several conditions
WHERE size(ringMols) > 2 // controls number of molecules in the ring