cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Not able to pass pandas dataframe to neo4j via cypher

Hi All

I am new to cypher or neo4j and still trying to learn the craft. I am stuck on an issue. I have a dataframe which I want to transfer to neo4j graph using cypher. Here are the details

Getting ValueError: dictionary update sequence element #0 has length 3; 2 is required

What I am trying to achieve via cypher query

import pandas as pd
from py2neo import Graph,Node,Relationship
from neo4j import GraphDatabase, basic_auth

for index, row in df.iterrows():
    tx = graph.begin()
    tx.evaluate('''
       Merge (W1:word{term:row.Word1)
       Merge(W2:word{term:row.Word2)
       Merge (W1)-[r:Next]->(W2)
       set r.start = row.POS1
       set r.end = row.POS2
       ''',parameters = {row.Word1, row.Word2})
    tx.commit()

Objective: The "next" relationship has a direction and I am attaching the POS values into the specific relationships. I would then create the word nodes with the unique property being term. In this way I wish to achieve the words are connected and I have the POS in the relation properties.

11 REPLIES 11

parameters = {"row" : row}

Hey Sanjay thanks for you response I tried your suggestion but I am still getting error stating----> TypeError: Neo4j does not support JSON parameters of type Series

Sorry. Try this.
tx.evaluate('''
Merge (W1:word{term:$Word1)
Merge(W2:word{term:$Word2)
set r.start = $POS1
set r.end = $POS2
''',parameters = {"Word1":row.Word1, "Word2": row.Word2,"POS1":row.POS1, "POS2":row.POS2})
tx.commit()

@sanjaysingh13

This failed again. I tried couple of more things but didn't work for me.
I am attaching the query so that you can replicate this at your end

from py2neo import Graph,Node,Relationship
from neo4j import GraphDatabase, basic_auth

for index, row in df.iterrows():