cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

New to Neo4j: Looking for feedback on setting correct relationships between entities

Hi all,

I am new to Neo4j or even graph databases for that matter. I am struggling with building my first graph. I would be very if the community would like to assist me with this basic question. I can not get it to work when following the instructions: How-To: Import CSV Data with Neo4j Desktop - Developer Guides

My case also involves three csv-files (two entities and one relationship) The csv's have the following layout:

CSV1: entity1_id, entity1_name
CSV2: entity2_id, entity2_name
CSV3: id, entity1_id, entity2_id (many:many relationship)

I would create a relationship using CSV3, however the result when running the following cypher code:

LOAD CSV WITH HEADERS FROM 'file:///CSV3.csv' AS row
WITH toInteger(row.id) AS relation_id, toInteger(row.entity1_id) AS entity1_id, toInteger(row.entity2_id) AS entity2_id
MATCH (e1:CSV1 {entity1_id:entity1_id})
MATCH (e2:CSV2 {entity2_id:entity2_id})
MERGE (e1)-[rel:CONTAINS]->(e2)
RETURN count(rel);

This yield 0 relationships. Could someone help me out on setting the correct relationships between the entities?

Thanks in advance!

9 REPLIES 9

Hi,

Based on your query you are trying to MATCH on the nodes you want to connect. The question I have is do they exist yet? If not, try switching to use MERGE instead of match. The relationships are likely not being created if the nodes don't exist.

Hi Michael,

Thank you for your prompt response. I used something along the following Cypher to construct the nodes (according to the mentioned link).

LOAD CSV WITH HEADERS FROM 'file:///orders.csv' AS row
WITH toInteger(row.orderID) AS orderId, datetime(replace(row.orderDate,' ','T')) AS orderDate, row.shipCountry AS country
RETURN orderId, orderDate, country
LIMIT 5;