cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

New to cypher/neo4j Modularize Scripts

Hello, I'm sorry if this is a very common question, but I am pretty new to this, and I'm trying to use neo4j and cypher to build a simple generate model of agents in a network. I have a good idea of the type of graph modelling I want to use, how the nodes all relate to each other. However, I would like the graph model to be updated over time through scripts. Such an example of a script might be: "Person moves to office." and that would change their "Located at" relation from whatever it's pointed to now, to the same as that person's "works at" relation.

Now of course, this is pretty trivial with cypher query language, and I have been able to do this command with cypher-cli and with parameter notation. However, I would really like to be able to define this type of function as a procedure, or as a script file with parameters than I could call from other script files. I can only find neo4j documentation about writing custom code to make my own procedures, but I don't really need that level of detail yet, I just need to define some custom parameterized cypher queries that I can organize into simple functions. Is there any idea about how to go about this?

5 REPLIES 5

If you're using Desktop this is pretty simple, but not sure it buys you much unless the params are used more than once in the queries/updates. You can create and use params either separately or within a favorite. I typically set up params (separately) for a set of repetitive queries which works well. I save both the set param and the queries as favorites.

//set name
:param name => 'John Smith';

//find name
MATCH (p:Party {name:$name}) return p

you can combined them into one script, not useable for reads, since it doesn't return the result, but for updates it works