cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Neo4j TimeTrees cannot extract the result

Hi, I am quite new with that technology and I would like to extract from my small graph the following session(blue ones) nodes.

This is my query: get the sessions between 2021-05-20 to 2021-05-28. I execute the following query

MATCH (u:Profile { uuid: "xxxxxxxxx" })-[rel:HAS_AUDIT]->(a:Audit)
MATCH 
  (a)-[:HAS_YEAR]->(:Year {year: 2021})-[:HAS_MONTH]->(:Month {month: 5})-[:HAS_DAY]->(:Day {day: 20})-[:ACTIVITY_AT]->(s1:Session),
  (a)-[:HAS_YEAR]->(:Year {year: 2021})-[:HAS_MONTH]->(:Month {month: 5})-[:HAS_DAY]->(:Day {day: 28})-[:ACTIVITY_AT]->(s2:Session),
  (s1)-[:NEXT*]->(d)-[:NEXT*]->(s2)
RETURN d

But because the 20 and 28 do not exist I don't get any nodes back. If I change from 20 to 24 and 28 to 27, the result is the same, no nodes back

Any light why it is happening that?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

If no such :Day nodes exist, then this is expected.

We can simplify the query:

WITH range(20, 28) as days
MATCH (a)-[:HAS_YEAR]->(:Year {year: 2021})-[:HAS_MONTH]->(:Month {month: 5})-[:HAS_DAY]->(d:Day)-[:ACTIVITY_AT]->(s:Session)
WHERE d.day IN days
RETURN s

If you need the nodes ordered, then you can do that by whatever datetime property exists on the :Session nodes before returning. If you don't need the sessions present on the start and end days, then filter those out after you match to the sessions, but before you return.

In any case, it would be far simpler to ditch the time tree and use indexed temporal properties, the query becomes much easier.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

If no such :Day nodes exist, then this is expected.

We can simplify the query:

WITH range(20, 28) as days
MATCH (a)-[:HAS_YEAR]->(:Year {year: 2021})-[:HAS_MONTH]->(:Month {month: 5})-[:HAS_DAY]->(d:Day)-[:ACTIVITY_AT]->(s:Session)