cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Neo4j- questions on Syntax of apoc trigger, procedure and WITH statements

I have the following APOC trigger which contains a apoc procedure. This works as desired but I am wondering if I used a lot of WITH statements, is that the way to go? or is there a better way to refactor this code. I am still new to neo4j so not sure.

The control flow- Whenever the Enrollment node is created, it creates an SPerson node and depending on the size(number of SPerson nodes) it creates an enrolled or waitlist(if size>3, and deletes enrolled relation) relation with the course node.

The MATCH (e:Enrollment) DETACH DELETE e is to delete any 'enollment' node after creation. I don't want any 'enrollment' nodes in neo4j at the end. They are only here for starting the trigger. The nodes that have a purpose are the 'SPerson' nodes which will have properties(created from the enrollment nodes and enrollment nodes will then get deleted) and relations with the course node.
For Example
CREATE (:Enrollment { name: "Manish", cell: "99876", created_at: TIMESTAMP()});
#This will start the trigger and create a 'SPerson' node with a 'enrolled' relationship with the 'course' node.

My code

CALL apoc.trigger.add('loadEnrollments',   
"UNWIND apoc.trigger.nodesByLabel($assignedLabels, 'Enrollment') AS node
 MERGE (p1:SPerson { name: node.name, cell: node.cell, created_at: node.created_at})
 WITH p1, node
 MATCH (c:Course {name: 'Paradigm Shifting 101'})
 WITH node
 MATCH (n:SPerson)
 WITH node, COUNT(n) as size
 CALL apoc.do.when(
 size>3,
 'MATCH(p1:SPerson),(c:Course) 
 WHERE p1.name=node.name
 CREATE (p1)-[:Waitlist]->(c)
 WITH p1,c 
 MATCH (e:Enrollment) DETACH DELETE e',
 'MATCH(p1:SPerson),(c:Course) 
 WHERE p1.name=node.name
 CREATE (p1)-[:Enrolled]->(c)
 WITH p1,c