cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Need help with a query

Hello everyone, I am relatively new at Neo4j, but I am working on a side project for myself. I am not sure if my modeling is wrong, but here is what I am doing.

What I have done is to take a list of food products, in this screenshot, the product shown is "Tutturos...", and then I have broken out all the ingredients for that product and made a "contains" relationship. So, as shown, the product contains "citric acid", "natural flavor"...and so forth. The two node labels are Products and Ingredient.

However, I am struggling with writing a query that says "get me all the products that contains citric acid AND natural flavor" for example.

I tried this:

match (p:Product)-[r:contains]->(i:Ingredient)
where i.name = 'citric acid'
and i.name = 'natural flavor'
RETURN p

But it returns no records because it is probably saying there are no nodes with ingredient natural flavor as well as citric acid at the same time, resulting in an impossible query. In other words, I know why the query above doesn't work, but I can't figure out how to make it work.

It could be that my modeling is wrong. But I do want a way to link individual ingredient items to a product so a search can be made on multiple exact ingredient items.

Thanks in advance for your help.

[edit] Upon further research it seems as if my problem is how I have modeled this. I am guessing a node shouldn't have multiple relationships of the same type (in my case one node has multiple "contains" relationship to ingredients). Am i right?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I think you can do it like this:

match (p:Product)-[r:contains]->(i1:Ingredient {name: "citric acid"}),
           (p:Product)-[r:contains]->(i2:Ingredient  {name: "natural flavor"})
RETURN p

Or for a more generic version: