cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Need help optimizing my Queries to insert loads of Data

Hello everyone! I am very new to Neo4j and Cypher. I have been evaluating Neo4j for the past several weeks as a replacement for our existing DB to be able to run more efficient queries for our use case. So we have come up with the best DB schema that fits our needs very well and the data fetching queries work very well. The problem I am facing is while inserting data into Neo4j.

MERGE queries are super slow and take a lot of CPU horsepower, and keeps getting slower with increasing Nodes. With only a couple Million Nodes, the MERGE queries take several minutes.

I have used MERGE everywhere because we do not desire same / similar Nodes for every request, as we have similar data coming in from multiple sources, and might get the same data multiple times.

I am using Python and the Neo4j Python library to interact. I have a lot of JSON data coming in via APIs, which is then filtered and normalized in Python before inserting into Neo4j.

Details of what I am doing :

- The main (Base) Node will be connected to all the data points directly, and the data points are of different variety, so they have to be different kinds of Nodes.

- There are a few Nodes (BaseConnectedNodes) that have more than a few properties and are only 1 per Base Node.

- Then there are other Nodes (ConnectedNodes) that are generally multiple and have very few properties. So these Nodes are passed as lists and using FOREACH or UNWIND then created or matched using MERGE, then linked to the BaseNode.

MERGE (b: BaseNode {k_id: $b.k_id, value: $b.value})
    ON CREATE
    SET b = $b
    ON MATCH
    SET b += $b
MERGE (b1: BaseConnectedNodeType1 {k_id: $b.k_id, value: $b1.value})
    ON CREATE
        SET b1 = $b1
    ON MATCH