cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Multiple Values for a property

Hi, I am a newbie to Neo4j and struck with following problem.
My Dataset is as below
Object, Size, Color
A,200,White
A,300,Black
A,200,Pink
B,300,White
B,300,Black

The expected output is two nodes A and B with two properties Size and Color but there should not be duplicate size being displayed. For Example Node A has 200 in White and Pink Color but Size property should be showing 200 only once i.e. (200,300) and Color property should be showing (White, Black, Pink). Can somebody please help me with cypher code?

8 REPLIES 8

Hi @ask.singh90 ,

How have you modelled this problem? Or is it actually that the question?

Are you planning on creating instances of each object with property/tag the gives you type while you have specific size color combinations on each one of them? Dense Object nodes with HAS_SIZE and HAS_COLOR to other dense nodes?

Bennu

Oh, y’all wanted a twist, ey?

I want to show just the object nodes with multiple values for a property. like A with Size property(200,300) and Color property(White, Black, Pink).

Hi @ask.singh90 ,

Based on a data like :

CREATE (o:OBJECT {type : 'A', size : 200, color : 'White'});
CREATE (o:OBJECT {type : 'A', size : 300, color : 'Black'});
CREATE (o:OBJECT {type : 'A', size : 200, color : 'Pink'});
CREATE (o:OBJECT {type : 'B', size : 300, color : 'White'});
CREATE (o:OBJECT {type : 'B', size : 300, color : 'Black'});

You can get the expected result with:

MATCH(o:OBJECT)
WITH o.type as type, collect(distinct o.size) as sizes, collect(distinct o.color) as colors
RETURN type, sizes, colors

Notice that it may be misleading because you don't have the object A on size 300 color pink.

Bennu