cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

java API hello world - DatabaseStateService not found

Hi, I'm new to neo4j and trying to build and run the HelloWorldExample.java as described at https://neo4j.com/docs/java-reference/current/java-embedded/setup/ . It builds, but then gets a class not found error (stack trace below), for a class that doesn't appear to be in the neo4j-5.3.0.jar file under /org/neo4j/dbms .  Is the example out of date, or have I made a mistake.  I'd be grateful for advice.

all the best,

Adam

$ java -cp target/my-app-1.jar:lib/* com.articulate.HelloWorldExample
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/neo4j/dbms/DatabaseStateService
at org.neo4j.dbms.api.DatabaseManagementServiceBuilderImplementation.getEditionFactory(DatabaseManagementServiceBuilderImplementation.java:91)
at org.neo4j.dbms.api.DatabaseManagementServiceBuilderImplementation.newDatabaseManagementService(DatabaseManagementServiceBuilderImplementation.java:82)
at org.neo4j.dbms.api.DatabaseManagementServiceBuilderImplementation.build(DatabaseManagementServiceBuilderImplementation.java:78)
at org.neo4j.dbms.api.DatabaseManagementServiceBuilder.build(DatabaseManagementServiceBuilder.java:42)
at com.articulate.HelloWorldExample.main(HelloWorldExample.java:45)
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.neo4j.dbms.DatabaseStateService
at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.BuiltinClassLoader.loadClass(BuiltinClassLoader.java:641)
at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.ClassLoaders$AppClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoaders.java:188)
at java.base/java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:520)
... 5 more

3 REPLIES 3