cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

How to count the nodes group by their properties' values

Hi, everyone!
I am new to neo4j. I use the procedure apoc.path.subgraphNodes to get all the nodes in a subgraph.

MATCH (p:Pkg {name: "express", version:'4.17.1'})
CALL apoc.path.subgraphNodes(p, {
	relationshipFilter: "DependOn",
	minLevel:1,maxLevel:10
})
YIELD node
RETURN node

However, I want to count these nodes group by a property's values, which named license. The output should be like this:

license        count
name1           10
name2           12
...             ..

I know there is no group by clause in neo4j. What I want to do is like:

RETURN node.license, COUNT(node) GROUP BY node.license

Regards
Changecpl

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Oh, Thanks a lot @tard.gabriel !You are right. The Cypher language is easy to read ! That is so close. I want to count the nodes that the package express depends on both directly and indirectly, group by the property license 's values. I change your code, but the count seems contains duplicate nodes
due to the intersection of different paths. Finally I put the distinct where it should be !
Thanks bro !

MATCH (p:Pkg {name: "express", version:'4.17.1'})-[:DependOn*1..]->(n:Pkg)
// due to the intersection of different paths, n contains duplicate nodes, use distinct
WITH n.license AS license, count(distinct n) AS count
RETURN license, count ORDER BY license

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Hi @changecpl

Any Neo4j Staff member is welcome to disagree, maybe I don't understand clearly the need here, but if I do I think you don't need apoc at all in this case and for production, intuitiveness and speed purpose I would recommend to use Cypher only if you can.