cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

How to combine two different queries together into a single one

Hello everyone, i'm still new to neo4j and i'm trying to populate a neo4j database from a Java application using Neo4j Java Dirver and i just stumbled upon the necessity of combining two queries that so far i ran separately into a single one. Those queries are the following:

params.put( "nodes", nodes );
        String query =
                "UNWIND $nodes AS n " +
                "MERGE (x:" + index + " {id: n.id}) " +
                "ON CREATE SET x += n " +
                "WITH x, n " +
                "CALL apoc.create.addLabels([ id(x) ], [ n.category ]) yield node " +
                "RETURN node";
        session.run( query, params );

and

params.put( "relationships", relationships );
        String query =
                "UNWIND $relationships AS relationship " +
                "MATCH (x:" + index + " {id: relationship.source_id}), (y:" + index + " {id: relationship.target_id}) " +
                "MERGE (x)-[r:" + type + "]-(y)" +
                "ON CREATE SET r += relationship";

The first one creates nodes (if they already dont exist in the db) and adds a second label dinamically, the second one creates relationships by matching the nodes involved and creating a link if it doesnt exist. I would like to have those queries into a single method and possibly into the same query as follows:

params.put( "nodes", nodes );
        params.put( "relationships", relationships );
        String query =
                "???";

How can i make them into a single query?

Thanks in advance

1 REPLY 1