cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

How can I model this use case?

Hi,

I am new to Neo4j and Cypher. I am Using Neo4j Desktop On Windows and try to improve efficiency our internal operations.

The current relationship between the nodes is follows.

(:Employee)-[:join]->(:Project)
(:Project)-[:use]->(:Programming_Language)

I thought at first the programming_Language nodes would be good enough to connect to the Project nodes, however since it depends on individual whether they actually use it or not. So I thought it is necessary to connect the Employee nodes to the Programming_Language nodes as well. Certainly, I can determine which employee have experience using Programming_Language, but I cannot determine which Projects they have used that Programming_Language on. Are there any good solution for modeling this use case?

Thanks in advance.

4 REPLIES 4

Benoit_d
Graph Buddy

Hi,
in RDF you would use a blank node: you would like to link the programming language to the relationship between Employee and Project, which ich not possible. You will have to introduce a node between Employee and Project. This could be some kind of project role:
3X_a_d_ade609bfbef332f4615e3cf7a7b56a615bec0f9b.png
The programming language is then a tool that belong to the role.

Having the premise that any programmer can code in more that one programming language
A project must have "start date" and "end date" at least , then if you want to know What programmers are in active project and what language are they using in ? or What programmers are avaliable for a new Proyect? I'll really need more questions to resolve and then design the graph model

poornima
Node Clone

Hi,
Another possible way to view this -