cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Help in understanding why this query works please

hi

I am new to Cypher and implementing a Financial Crime DB.

This is for a superannuation product and my schema is -
(Member), (BankAccount), (EmailAddress), (MobileNumber) and (IPAddress).
And relationships between all these nodes of USES.

I needed to derive for an email pattern any members with this email and did they have payments, this Cypher gave accurate results ( as the DBAs ran theirs in their OLTP database) but I am confused on what it is doing as I have not mentioned any 'real' nodes and in particular returns the EmailAddress node and has filtered the list to only those who have a BankAccount node.

It is just searching everything maybe ?

WITH ['.aol.com.', '.yandex.com.', '.fastemail.com.'] AS emaillist
UNWIND emaillist AS emailextension
match (email) -- (member) -- (bankaccount)
WITH emailextension, email
WHERE email.name =~ emailextension
and exists (bankaccount.name )
and member.status = 'Current'
RETURN * limit 10

Thanks in advance 🙂

5 REPLIES 5

This is part of your query is assigning values to your variable
and looping over it and it can be explained with help of a psuedo code

emailList = ['.aol.com.', '.yandex.com.', '.fastemail.com.'],
emailList.foreach((emailExtension) => {
    // you will get  indiviual email extenstion value in it  
)

and you can think rest of your query is executed inside of this forEach.

Now coming to the MATCH clause

match (email) -- (member) -- (bankaccount)
WITH emailextension, email

This returns a nodes with the relationship as you have defined in your schema.
Relationship is expressed as a member having a email and a bank account.

WITH clause passes the variables you have defined to next operations.

and exists (bankaccount.name )
RETURN * limit 10