cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Help: How to create relationship with last nonempty cell in a row

nawar_alwesh
Node Clone

Hi

I am a newbie to neo4j, I would like to load a csv file and create node and relationship from that data

The csv looks like this

Task sub_task1 sub_task2 sub_task3 Expertise
A A1 A2 A3 Expert
B B1 B2   Novice
C C1     Novice

Task and subtask1, and Expertise cells can't be empty

I would like to create

A [has_child] A1 [has_child] A2 [has_child] A3

B [has_child] B1 [has_child] B2

C [has_child] C1

I was able to achieve that but I couldn't do the following

For each row, create a relationship between Expertise and the last nonempty cell with a property "Expert",or "Novice" depending on the data

So there should be a relationship created

between Expertise node and A3 with type "Expert"

between Expertise node and B2 with type "Novice"

between Expertise node and C1 with type "Novice"

I would really appreciate any help in this

Thanks

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

I was able to come up with something. I used some APOC procedures to make it easier to set the labels dynamically. Now that the query depends on APOC, you may want to leverage the 'apoc.do.case' procedure to replace the call subqueries that create the relationship type based on the value of expertise. It would be cleaner. 

load csv with headers from "file:///Book2.csv" as row
with row.Task as task, [row.sub_task1, row.sub_task2, row.sub_task3] as subtasks, row.Expertise as expertise
with task, expertise, [x in subtasks where x is not null] as subtasks
merge(t:Task{name: task})
with t, expertise, subtasks
where size(subtasks) > 0
merge(s:sub_task1{name: subtasks[0]})
merge(t)-[:HAS_CHILD]->(s)
with expertise, subtasks, size(subtasks)-1 as maxIndex