cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Golang Driver | Neo4j Performance Issue

I have to believe I MUST be doing something wrong. I am a database expert by the way, having worked in engineering and consulting at database companies for 24 years, and I'm a language expert in over 13 languages. So I know what I am doing.

But when I run a simple benchmark for simple inserts into an ODBMS or RDBMS, or just about any other DBMS, records with two columns (or properties) I consistently get between 10,000 up to 30,000 tps. But with Neo4j I get an appalling 11 tps. I was getting over 10,000 TPS 23 years ago with ObjectStore, so I cannot understand why when I follow documentation I only get 11 TPS with Neo4j? Can someone point out what I am doing incorrectly?

I have to be doing something terribly wrong. This same hardware (64 GB RAM, 2 TB NVMe, 10 Gbps Eth) gets bleeding edge performance with any other database. I have assigned 16 GB to the database. And I am simply trying to insert a few dozen records, upwards of a few thousand. So this is a VERY SMALL database, no reason to be slow. And I am not setting up ANY relationships, only inserting nodes.

Can someone explain to me what I could possibly be doing wrong in the code below that would result in this sort of performance? I am literally copying the code out of the golang driver "benchmark" (for the most part).

ctx := context.Background()

// create an auth token...
	neo4jAuthToken := getNeoAuthToken(neo4jUsername, neo4jPassword, neo4jRealm)

// create a driver...
	driver, err := neo4j.NewDriverWithContext(neo4jUri, neo4jAuthToken)
	if err != nil {
		log.Fatal(err)
	}
	defer driver.Close(ctx)

if err := driver.VerifyConnectivity(ctx); err != nil {
		log.Fatalf("failed to verify connection: %s", err)
	}

// create the session configuration...
	config := neo4j.SessionConfig{