cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Get all Parent Child pairs from a Tree starting at a certain Node all the way down

Hello, I'm new to cypher and currently stuck on a problem that it seems to me ought to be quite straight forward, I suspect it might be a conceptual issue but I'm not sure, any help greatly appreciated.

We've built a graph of nodes. Some of these are "Leaf" nodes and their "tree" begins with the "Root" node. Apart from the Root, each Leaf node (a , b, c, d, etc) in the tree has one Parent Leaf, and 0..n children.

The tree is of unknown depth.

(parent:Leaf) –[PARENT_OF]->(child:Leaf)

There are other types of node, and other types of Link, but for this puzzle I need to just work with the Leafs and PARENT_OF

I want to return a table of pairs: ParentID, ParentName, ChildID, ChildName

This code does it quite nicely:

MATCH (parent:Leaf) -[PARENT_OF]->(child:Leaf)
RETURN ID(parent) AS ParentID, parent.Name, ID(child) AS ChildID, child.Name
ORDER BY parent.Name ASC, child.Name ASC

Result:

ParentIDparent.NameChildIDchild.Name
219Root194a
219Root195b
194a193c
194a192d
195b261j

But things get really complicated when I try and get just a section of the tree, ie: I want to pick a Leaf and get that Leaf and all the Pairs beneath it in the tree at any depth.

I've tried this:

MATCH (parent:Leaf) -[PARENT_OF]->(child:Leaf)
WHERE parent.Name = "Root"

(here we've begun at the Root, which ought to return the whole tree, but in practice I'd want to specify a different starting node each time)

And it just gives the children of the Root.

219Root194a
219Root195b

I've tried this:

MATCH (startleaf:Leaf) -[sp:PARENT_OF]->(parent:Leaf) -[pc:PARENT_OF]->(child:Leaf)
WHERE startleaf.Name = "Root"

But we no longer get the Start Leaf, and we only get 2 levels down.

194a193c
194a192d
195b261j
195b262k