cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Defining a hierarchy relationship from multiple properties

Community,

Apologies first, I'm new to GraphDB and Cypher. I did research and try several attempts to resolve this issue.

I have a self-referencing hierarchy from a legacy SQL data source which contains levels 4 - 1 with lvl4 being highest and lvl1 being the lowest. They each contain id and name properties. Each record results in a distinct path.
lvl4[A]
lvl3 [A of B]
lvl2 [A of B of C]
lvl1 [A-D]
lvl2 [A of B of C]
lvl2 [A of B of C]
lvl2 [A of B]
lvl2 [A of B]
lvl1 [G]...

Data Example

dim_id lvl1_id lvl1_name lvl2_id lvl2_name lvl3_id lvl3_name lvl4_id lvl4_name
1000 428227 Customer Item Generic 300348 Customer Item 200692 Customer Enterprise 100255 Customer Services
1001 431077 Small Customer Item Latin America 300348 Customer Item 200692 Customer Enterprise 100255 Customer Services
1002 428138 Small Customer Item US 300348 Customer Item 200692 Customer Enterprise 100255 Customer Services
1003 431073 Customer Item Priority 300348 Customer Item 200692 Customer Enterprise 100255 Customer Services
1004 431078 Customer Item Latin America 300348 Customer Item 200692 Customer Enterprise 100255 Customer Services

Can someone help me with the cypher to create a hierarchy relationship for this data?
lvl1 to lvl2 relation called tg
lvl2 to lvl3 relation called pg
lvl3 to lvl4 relation called sg
-if necessary-
lvl4 to root relation called dg

• Neo4j Desktop 1.0.20
  • No API or Driver necessary
6 REPLIES 6

In your example data levl4, levl3, and lvl2 are all the same for all rows. Is that true only for the example, or are those expected to change?

Do you know if the resulting data is meant to be a tree?