cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Cypher Question: Checking for Known Path Based on Node Properties & Returning Leaf Node

Forgive me if this is not the correct place to ask a question about cypher queries.  I'm extremely new to neo4j and am curious if anyone has solved this problem before.

I've got a graph of parent/child relationships which form a tree of Person nodes.  Each Person node has a property Name.  Given a known list of Names, I need to test for the existence of a path where each string in the List represents a node in the path.  Here's a conceptual hierarchy:

[Arthur]→[Bob]→[Charlie]→[Dave]
       ↳[Betty]→[Cheryl]

And the query cases I'm trying to solve for:

With ["Arthur", "Bob", "Charlie", "Dave"] AS Parentage
Match (p:Person WHERE p.Name="Arthur")
// ... somehow, return only the "Dave" node
With ["Arthur", "Betty"] AS Parentage
// ... somehow, return only the "Betty" node
With ["Arthur", "Mark"] AS Parentage
// ... somehow, don't return anything (because "Arthur" has no CHILD "Mark")
With ["Arthur", "Cheryl"] AS Parentage
// ... somehow, don't return anything (Note that "Cheryl" is not a direct CHILD of "Arthur")

Are the above scenarios possible to do as a Cypher query?  I know that if I do something like this:

Match (p:Person WHERE p.Name="Arthur")-[r:CHILD*]->(b:Person)
RETURN r, a, b

It would provide me with all of the nodes and relationships, which I could then use application code to filter.  But that seems like it could get expensive as nodes grow.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I think I understand.  You want to get the leaf node of a path exactly described by a list of names.  The path has to be in the same order as the names. I didn't know if it could or couldn't be longer than the list, so I provided both solutions.