cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Creating relationship using MERGE runs endlessly

I'm new to Neo4j and working on a data set that contains 2.3M rows. I have got the following questions

1. When I implement the Load CSV query, I'm not able to load and view the whole dataset.
    Do I have to use LIMIT to have an effective visualization?

Query used:

LOAD CSV WITH HEADERS FROM 'file.csv' AS row with toInteger(row.parentid) AS parentid, toInteger(row.childid) AS childid, row.name AS name
RETURN row LIMIT 100;
  1. Working on a CSV file having 3 columns as mentioned above,
    I'm trying to create a parent-child relationship between entries in parentid with childid using
MERGE (c:childnode {id: childid, cname: name})
MERGE (p:parentnode {parentid: parentid, pname: name})
MERGE (p)-[:PARENT]->(c)
RETURN p,c;

Problem: It runs endlessly w/o LIMIT. Is there any way to make this code run in less time? How do I approach this?

Thank you for your help!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

No, 1 minute for 5000 nodes is far too slow. This should be subsecond.

You didn't mention if you added indexes or not. If you didn't, please do, and then verify with an EXPLAIN of the query.

We also know there is an Eager in the query plan, and that will sabotage the periodic committing. The reason is the two MERGE operations.

We would recommend doing two passes through your CSV first, one to only MERGE c, another pass to only MERGE parent, and a last pass to MATCH (instead of MERGE) both nodes and MERGE the relationship between them. That will remove the Eager.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

Hello @Ankita_Rahavachari and welcome to the Neo4j community

1. In Neo4j Desktop, you can only see the first 1000 rows in table view.
  2. To speed up the load, you must first create UNIQUE CONSTRAINTS on nodes: