cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Count distinct pairs i.e. Count rows "after" RETURN distinct a, b

Hello everyone!

I'm new to neo4j and I've doing a lot of research about queries syntax, and I really need your help on this one. It's probably very simple but I'm stuck on it.

I have a query that ends with the line below and the table is the result.

[...]
RETURN distinct u2.id, u3.id
╒═══════╤═══════╕
│"u2.id"│"u3.id"│
╞═══════╪═══════╡
│1137   │444    │
├───────┼───────┤
│1137   │770    │
├───────┼───────┤
│1137   │192    │
├───────┼───────┤
│192    │1137   │
├───────┼───────┤
│444    │1137   │
├───────┼───────┤
│444    │770    │
├───────┼───────┤
│770    │1137   │
├───────┼───────┤
│770    │444    │
└───────┴───────┘
8 rows 

It represents pairs of nodes that are directly connected (actually that are multiples edges between each pair of nodes but I'm interested only the pair of nodes).

I simply want to count the number of distinct pairs, i.e., the number of rows of this result, which is 8 in this example.

I've tried a few things without success.

Attempt 1

[...]
RETURN count(distinct u2.id, u3.id)

Attempt 2

[...]
RETURN size(distinct u2.id, u3.id)

Attempt 3

[...]
WITH (distinct u2.id, u3.id) as rel
RETURN count(rel)

Attempt 4

[...]
RETURN distinct u2.id, u3.id, count(*)

The Neo4j version is 3.5.14.
Really appreciate your help!!!

PS: If necessary my whole query is:

MATCH (u1 {id:522})-[r1:InteractsWith]-(u2)
WITH collect(distinct u2.id) as neighbours
MATCH (u1 {id: 522})-[r1:InteractsWith]-(u2)-[r2:InteractsWith]-(u3)
WHERE u3.id in neighbours
RETURN distinct u2.id, u3.id
5 REPLIES 5

You were so close! It took me a while to figure this one out the first time I encountered it.