cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Cosine similarity on 1M person nodes

rc
Node Clone

hello, 

I am a neo4j newbie and I am working on an entity resolution in my graph. 

I have person nodes with a first name, last name and date of birth. I am looking to create an [:IS_SIMILAR] relationship between person nodes which are the same person entity. 

I have 1M person nodes. 

I am trying to use a cosine similarity function to resolve the entities. I have created the embeddings but my cosine similarity function is taking a very long time to run. 

The code is provided below: 

MATCH (p1:Person)
MATCH (p2:Person)
WHERE p1 <> p2
WITH p1 as person1, p1.embedding as p1Data, p2 as person2, p2.embedding as p2Data
WITH person1, person2, gds.similarity.cosine(
p1Data, p2Data
) AS cosineSimilarity
WHERE cosineSimilarity > 0.8
MERGE (person1) -[s:IS_SIMILAR]- (person2)
RETURN count(s)

I know this will create a cartesian product and try and evaluate the similarity of each pair of nodes. I would be very grateful if you could please let me know how I can optimise this as it is taking hours to run. 

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated. 

RC 

4 REPLIES 4

rc
Node Clone

thinking of using knn instead

Hello @rc 😅

Here is a solution more optimized with APOC plugin:

CALL apoc.periodic.iterate("
	MATCH (p1:Person) 
	MATCH (p2:Person) 
	WHERE id(p1) < id(p2) 
	WITH p1, p2, gds.similarity.cosine(p1.embedding, p2.embedding) AS cosineSimilarity 
	WHERE cosineSimilarity > 0.8 
	RETURN p1, p2, cosineSimilarity
	", "
	MERGE (p1)-[s:IS_SIMILAR]->(p2) 
	SET s.similarity = cosineSimilarity
	", 
	{batchSize: 10000, parallel: true}
);

If you want to use KNN, you will have first to project your graph in-memory, then apply the algorithm on it. The solution with graph in-memory should be faster normally.

Regards,
Cobra