cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Neo4j and WWI

Hello, my name is Jacques, I am 56 years old and I live near Vichy in France.
I'm not really a developer (anymore) but I able to do my own code if necessary (Php, Processing3, Arduino). I read English but have trouble writing it so I am using google translate, please excuse me 🙂

I am currently working (as a freelance) on the life of 160 'Poilus' (French soldiers), from the same rural town, who died in action or went missing during the First World War. I must therefore establish their genealogy over several generations, which amounts to establishing a Book of Families, which begins around 1804 (for reasons of legibility of the archives). I am using a site online running under the GeneWeb7 engine to enter the genealogical data, then I parse the backup file to extract the data. At this point I had a database choice problem: my data is for the moment structured in entities (individuals and families) having event lists, which themselves can have witnesses, location ... SQL joins would have killed me :)).
And one day by chance I came across Neo4j. This is what I needed!
Basic nodes are: an individual (man or woman), a family, a place, a regiment, ...
Secondary nodes (the glue between the basic nodes) are: a birth, a wedding, a residence, a profession, a military service, etc. These are the events.
Relations are: between base nodes and secondary nodes, witnesses, etc etc