cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Windows & Web Applications Developer Intro and Questions

I am an applications developer, primarily web and Windows desktop (not Windows Store Apps). So while I find neo4j fascinating and have several projects that could use a graph database, before dedicating a large block of time mastering it, I need to know that I can use it with my applications.

Here are some comments/questions:

1. I do not expect my users to learn or use Cypher directly. The user will use my UI, all Cypher queries will be in the application code.
  2. All dependencies should be bundled with the application.
    a. Question 1: do I need to bundle the Community Server or the Desktop?
    b. Question 2: Which if any can I install for webs (I presume just the server)?
  3. Visualization. To me, a large part of the value of using a graph is to visualize the graph. I haven’t been able to find any examples (that compiles) that illustrate visualization in a web or desktop application (preferably both).
    a. Question 3: does neo4j community software provide the ability to have a visualization panel in an application (Windows and web)?

Samples

I have spent several hours going through a handful of samples on GitHub trying to answer my own questions above.

I have found:

1. Some reference Alpha versions (???)
  2. I have yet to get anything to compile and run (for example, some have really out-of-date NuGet packages that simply won’t update).
  3. Some want you to manually start one of the neo4j versions (not clear which one but I think they’re saying the Desktop version) and then manually populate a database.
    a. Comment: at the very least I would expect that both of these actions should be handled in code without extra steps by the end-user.