cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Use cases for node properties vs relationship properties

Hello, I'm new to Neo4j and Graph databases and was hoping to pick the Neo4j community collective brain on best practices for using relationship properties vs node properties. I've included a diagram to hopefully help explain what is in my mind. What I am trying to achieve is to be able to fetch all products in a given collection. A collection can have one or more products, and each product has a plan (effectively when the product is available for sale) and pricing. The availability/planning and pricing vary by country so a product can have many plans and many different prices. I will need to query the plan based on the floorPlan, startDate, and endDate properties. Similar for pricing I need to query on the country/currency. Where I am racking my brain a little is understanding if it is better to have those as relationship properties or node properties, which is more optimal? I was thinking if they are relationship properties maybe it would prevent the relationship from being traversed in the first place if it doesn't need to be. Any feedback or thoughts is appreciated.

4 REPLIES 4

clem
Graph Steward

To add more things to think about...

It may be better in some cases, is instead of a property use a Label. It's often faster to search by Labels. What a lot of people don't know, is a Node can have multiple Labels. However, this probably won't make sense for something fine grained like Price.

So, in the Movie DB, you could (hypothetically) have:

CREATE (p:Person:Director:Actor {name:"Clint Eastwood"})

BUT... on the other hand, if an Actor who has never directed before and you add their director info, you have to remember that you need to add the Director label to their node.

Relationships can have only one Label.