cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Trying to display multiple relationships between nodes

Hey guys, I'm relatively new to NEO4J. I'm using desktop to make a graph database for an email dataset. I have written some code and it seems to run correctly but it is not displaying multiple relationships between nodes.

**LOAD CSV WITH HEADERS FROM "file:///dummy_data.csv" AS row **

CREATE (s:Sender{from_send: row.From_User })

CREATE (r:Receiver{to_send: row.To_User })

MERGE (s)-[e:EMAILED{date: row.Date,time: row.Time,day: row.Day,subject: row.Subject, message_id: row.Msg_ID}]->(r)

RETURN s,r

I want each email address to display multiple relationships on a single node and not separately as shown

, is there something I'm doing wrong. Can anyone please guide

4 REPLIES 4

intouch_vivek
Graph Steward

Hi @ahmedfazal405,

Welcome to the Community!!

Instead of Create Try Merge
MERGE (s:Sender{from_send: row.From_User })

MERGE (r:Receiver{to_send: row.To_User })

MERGE (s)-[e:EMAILED{date: row.Date,time: row.Time,day: row.Day,subject: row.Subject, message_id: row.Msg_ID}]->(r)

RETURN s,r

Thank you. This does solve my problem.

I think the fundamental misunderstanding is your division of senders and receivers as different nodes. If you truly want separate :Sender and :Receiver nodes then Vivek's query usign MERGE is the right way to go.

But I think you might be better served by having some central user node, and letting the role of sender or receiver be a function of the relationship between them:

MERGE (s:User {id:row.From_User})
MERGE (r:User {id:row.To_User})

RETURN s,r

This way you use a common node type for a user whether they're a sender or a receiver.

It's best that you back this kind of model with an index on :User(id) so the lookups of your sender and receiver are quick.