cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Is Neo4j the right tech for helping me build a robot database?

Hello, I am a noob and I am in a dire need of advice concerning Neo4j, if it fits my project or not. It's easier to ask those who are experienced than read a whole book just to learn that you wasted your time with the wrong technology.

See, I am building this db about robots (I am talking about a website) and a robot is a part made of parts (+itself, as it is a part/object itself). It introduces recursion. A robot is made of a body (among other parts) that is made of a leg that is made of a thigh, etc. Each part has a set of tags (blue, metal), specifications (length), etc and the leg inherits the tags/specs of the thigh, the body inherits the tags/specs of the leg which inherited from the thigh, etc. A robot can have options, like a laser beam or a chainsaw. Same, with inherited tags/specs. Now, a part (ex: body) can have options that may or may not be inherited by the higher part (ex: the robot, because it's specialized). It can also add new parts (a new kind of breast plate) or tags/specs (an exclusive color), to the body used by the robot.

Hierarchies, recursivness, inheritance, they are not something that I can handle with a RDBMS like Mysql without major headache. The problem is that I want a powerful search engine that will be able to find every piece that has such and such tag or spec (ex: red led eyes, articulate feet, height between x and y), make that kind of complex queries with an unknown level of depth without god awful performances because of recursion.