cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

ExpandConfig performance when limit exceeds paths found

Hey Guys,

I'm pretty new to Neo4J and Cypher, I hope someone can help me with a weird performance issue when running a query with apoc.path.expandConfig.

The goal is to build a customer specific pricing module, for an e-business platform. Where users reside in a tree of usergroups, and products in in a tree of categories (Folders in this query). And there are Pricesheet, which basically are a labelled container of discounts with a 1-n relationship on a User node.

I'm using the apoc.path.expandConfig to get a subgraph of all path that somehow link a specific user to a product while going through a Discount node. That data this query is returning is looks fine, and I can work from that. But I'm running into a weird issue with performance. As soon as i put the limit parameter to one higher than the actual paths returned from the subgraph, the execution time of the query goes from around 20ms between 1 and 2 seconds.

This is a sample query:

MATCH  (start:User {userId:14554}), 
        (end:Product {productId: 38845})
        USING INDEX end:Product(productId)
        USING INDEX start:User(userId)
        CALL apoc.path.expandConfig(
          start, 
          {
            relationshipFilter:
              '<DISCOUNT_FOR_USER|DISCOUNT_FOR_FOLDER>|DISCOUNT_FOR_PRODUCT>|<DISCOUNT_FOR_USERGROUP|<DISCOUNT_FOR_PRICESHEET|<PRODUCT_BELONGS_TO|<FOLDER_BELONGS_TO|INHERIT_DISCOUNTS>|PRICESHEET_FOR_USER',     
            endNodes:end, 
        	limit: 18,
            labelFilter: '+Usergroup|+Discount|+Folder|+Product|+PriceSheet'
          }        
        ) YIELD path
        RETURN path

This outputs: Started streaming 18 records after 1 ms and completed after 14 ms.

Profile:

The same query, with only the limit changed: