cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Does neo4j have something similar to select for update

Hi there,
I am very new to Neo4j and coming from an oracle background. I have an application that has two instances running connecting into a single Neo4J Database. There is a scheduled job that timed to go off at the same time every day that will go to the database and query for work it needs to do.

Needless to say that I want to be sure only one of these instances will carry out this work. The will involve querying the database and update a property on a node plus some other tasks that are non-DB related.

In oracle, I would do a select for update and so lock these rows that will be updated and so the other instance would not be able to update these rows, so is there something similar in neo4j.
Regards

9 REPLIES 9

There isn't an exact equivalent, but neo4j is an acid database. If you do a CREATE or MERGE operation to modify data in the database, the database takes locks so that no one else can modify data at the same time. If someone did try, they'd fail because during that transaction the data is locked.

In Neo4j there's also an idea of causal chaining; every transaction can return a "bookmark". Clients can make queries as of some bookmark state to ensure that you've got everything up to date.

Not sure that is my solution been trying so many different ways but nothing seems to work.

What I have it two instances of my application running.

Each one has a cypher running on a scheduled job to grab a data for the DB and send it off to a service. Problem is that each instance grabs the data and sends it off so duplicate data is received by the service.

I have a flag set to true when the data is got from the DB.

so my query is along the lines of
Match (n)
where sentData=false
SET sentData=true
return n.