cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Displaying millions of lines of results

Good morning everyone,

I am new to Neo4j, graph databases and well...databases in general. I am trying to return some results from a query in my database but no luck as of yet. Here is my use case:

I'm doing some IAM analysis looking at users on a platform and what groups they are apart of. The data set I have is 300K nodes (users and groups) with 10M relationships. What I need is an output of all user nodes with all group nodes they are related to. Below is the query I wrote:

// Gather all user group membership
MATCH (u:User)
WITH u.dn AS n
MATCH (u {dn:n})-[`*]->(g:Group)
RETURN DISTINCT u.dn, g.dn

Line 1 - Gather all Users
Line 2 - Make the variable n with user node's property "DN". DN is the unique name for every user node
Line 3 - Find all users and their group memberships. Use * in the link relationship to account for any unknown depth of membership. Ex: User is a member of a group, which that group is a member of another group, which that second group is a member of third group, etc...
Line 4 - Return to me the unique names of all the users and groups (I don't need a graph at this point, just a table).

When I run this query, the neo4j browser crashes. It is my understanding from research that neo4j isn't meant to handle returning millions of rows. My current memory heap is 2 GB and pagefile of 1 GB. So as a noob here, what are my options. Is there a better way to query this? Thanks!

9 REPLIES 9

Neo4j Browser is not well suited to returning millions and millions of results.
However you might want to consider bin/cypher-shell

I will explore this option. I would honestly love to use a shell over the browser hands down. Is there a way to export the results to a CSV? I tried the APOC export csv and it was not working like I expected.