cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Saving node without updating node in relationship?

Hi, I'm new to Neo4J

In my app I have those entities :

@NodeEntity
 public class ManagedList {
     @Id
     @GeneratedValue()
     private Long id;

private String name;

@Relationship(type = "CONTAINS")
     private List<ListElement> listElement;

}

@NodeEntity
 public class ListElement {
     @Id
     @GeneratedValue()
     private Long id;

private int elementOrder;

@Relationship(type = "CONTAINS", direction = Relationship.INCOMING)
     private ManagedList managedList;
 }

When I add a new ListElement to a ManagedList with my WS, the ListElement in the JSON only has the ManagedList id, not the full object (to avoid sending unecessary informations). So when this JSON is mapped into a ListElement entity, nested ManagedList object only has its id, the other properties like name are == null.

Previously my app used to work with Mysql, and when I saved ListElement this way, it was correctly associated with ManagedList, and ManagedList object still has his name in DB (ManagedList object was not updated in any way in DB when I saved ListElement , no matter what has changed in its properties).

But now with Neo4J DB, when I save ListElement, it also updates the ManagedList object and set the name to null.

Is there any way to specify that when I save ListElement I don't want to update ManagedList, but only use ManagedList id to associate them, like it uses to happen in Mysql? Or this is impossible and I must first get the ManagedList object with the id, set it into my ListElement, and then save?

Many thx

7 REPLIES 7

I recommend reading this relevant section of the OGM docs: https://neo4j.com/docs/ogm-manual/current/reference/#reference:session:persisting-entities